Teaching Examples


Orlando Sentinel Web redesign
June 21, 2007, 5:17 pm
Filed under: design, journalism, newspapers, online

Danny Sanchez has the news and relevant links at his blog. Or go straight to the shiny new home page.

I don’t know about you, but the new design doesn’t rock my boat. And I really don’t like the tabs.

Update: The midday video update is pretty good, but it seems kind of strange to have it halfway down the page, BELOW all the stories it covers. I like this kind of video update a whole lot more than the overproduced ones from Roanoke and Naples … probably a lot of people feel just the opposite, but this one I didn’t mind watching.

Technorati tags: | | | |

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I agree with your comments about the redesign. It just looks…dated.

Especially with the side-navigation.

Here’s one feature that is worth promoting: “Better photo galleries that display in your browser window and not as a popup.”

No popups! What a concept! 🙂

Comment by Patrick Beeson

Getting rid of pop-ups is a great service to users, in my opinion. I just hate ’em.

I must say, I am surprised that the redesign is not more clean and open.

Comment by Mindy McAdams

About your comments on “overproduced” videos from Roanoke and Naples . . . I totally agree.

Just want to point out, though: The midday update isn’t new, if I remember correctly. Orlando’s been doing it a long while.

Comment by Lucas




Leave a Reply

