Teaching Examples


A dose of reality: Video editing
June 10, 2007, 9:23 pm
Filed under: journalism, newspapers, online, video

Angela Grant tells us:

When I first started in my position about one year ago, it took me a complete 8-hour shift or longer to produce one video. Through a lot of mistakes and learning, I decreased my production time. On average, I’ll shoot for 1-2 hours and edit for 2-3 hours. Plus drive time. So my start-to-finish production time is six hours or less. That’s for multi-source, complete visual story types of videos. Nowadays, I can shoot for two videos and then edit for one video in an 8-hour shift. However, less involved pieces take much less time (maybe two hours including driving, shooting and editing).

Print this out, and leave it on desks and chairs and taped to computer monitors around your newsroom.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t do video. Just don’t expect your fresh new shooters and editors to churn the stuff out at lightning speed, please.

Related post: Who shoots, who edits?

Technorati tags: | | | | |

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I just discovered your blog and I LOVE it! I’m a writer who works at a community media center, and I can already tell your blog will be an excellent professional reference for me and my coworkers. If you don’t mind, I’m posting a link to it on my own blog. The link text is “The best multi-media journalism blog!” Woo hoo!

Comment by Caridad




Leave a Reply

