Teaching Examples


Surprising video and audio quality with point and shoot camera
February 2, 2007, 5:26 am
Filed under: online, tools, video

I’m not saying it will win any prizes, but I’m fairly impressed at what I got with a camera that I could hide in a front jeans pocket (a Canon PowerShot SD700 IS 6MP Digital Elph).

Nothing special, just point and shoot.

I had never attempted to get any audio with this camera before, but now I think I need to put it through some tests. I didn’t expect it to be this good.

Technorati tags: | | | |

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I use the Canon A620 for video and stills. Like you, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the audio and video.

I use the provided software to edit the video clips. You can trim but you can’t split the video nor can you extract the audio from the video. That’s not a problem for me as I shoot to edit in-camera with short clips.

I import my edited video into ProShow Gold where I can add stills, text slides, audio etc…
and export the finished product as an MPEG video which I upload the YouTube and then post to my blog.

John
http://storywordspics.blogspot.com/

Comment by John Bonnar

That looks like a nice camera, John. It also shoots 640 x 480 at 30 fps, like my 700, but it is cheaper by about $100 U.S. Thanks for the tip! Also, I like your blog. Good on-the-street reporting, eh?

Comment by Mindy McAdams

It’s like I’ve been saying … it’s all in the know-how … good enough equipment can get decent results, and if you really know what you’re doing and are careful, it would be hard to spot the difference between video shot with a P&S and a higher-end camera. There are some things you need really good equipment to do, but not everytying.

Comment by Howard Owens




Leave a Reply

