Teaching Examples


News widgets just got better
January 23, 2007, 4:43 pm
Filed under: design, news, usability

Google has improved the widgets on my personal Google home page. Now the individual story headlines can be expanded on the page:

Google home page widgets
I immediately noticed how much more information I get from Techmeme, compared with washingtonpost.com.

Get your own personal Google home page.

Google has decided to call these gadgets, while everyone else is happy with widgets. Like these folks. Or for the Mac OS X Dashboard. Or for Netvibes.

Netvibes widgets
Netvibes provides a rollover effect to supply additional content.

Hmm, the question remains as to how many people are using widgets — outside the uber-geek community. Do you use them?

Technorati tags: | | |

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I don’t use the Google Reader widgets because I find them clunky. instead I used a greasemonkey script to merge google reader with my email. I do use other gadgets for to do lists, email previews, and google groups.

What I’m really waiting for is a WebOS that is efficient, well-designed, and sleek. I haven’t seen anything come close yet.

Comment by Megan Taylor




Leave a Reply

