Teaching Examples


5 things you didn’t know about me
December 21, 2006, 2:44 pm
Filed under: blogging, blogs

Thanks to Bryan Murley, I’m obligated (what obligates me, I’m not sure) to tell you these things:

  1. I took two computer science courses in the days before the Web: A 1-credit course in FORTRAN (1978), and a 3-credit course in (hold your breath) microprocessor architectures (1984). I learned to write assembly language in the latter. I have kept my notebook to prove it (I certainly cannot write it anymore). However, that is the extent of my computer science training. People seem to assume I came from a computer science background. Wrong!
  2. I studied Japanese for two years in New York. I thought I might go and live in Japan. So far, I have not. Can I speak or read Japanese? No. My efforts gave me the greatest appreciation for all Japanese who are able to speak English.
  3. However, I can play Go. Not well, by any measure. But I can play. Better yet, I can kibitz like a master!
  4. When I was in high school, my career goal was to train Seeing Eye dogs. I had never even had a pet dog. I remind myself of this when my students express odd ideas about their future plans.
  5. Also in high school, I regularly drew a comic strip for the photocopied underground newspaper started by my friend John. All of us who worked on the newspaper were threatened with suspension, and possibly even expulsion, several times by the administration. Thanks to this experience, I learned about the ACLU — they promised to go to bat for us if we were suspended (we didn’t know about the Student Press Law Center). We were never suspended, and the newspaper continued publication for about a year. We spent a lot of time in the principal’s office!

Now I am obligated to “tag” five other bloggers, and many people whom I read have already received this dubious honor. However, I think I can safely tag Andy Dickinson, Adrian Holovaty, Mathew Ingram, Melissa Lyttle and Rebecca MacKinnon.

Technorati tags: |

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks Mindy

I have just realised I am not interesting enough to warrent 5 things.

Deep woe for the holiday season. 🙂

Comment by Andy

This must be some kind of “six degrees of separation” kind of thing, Mindy — I’ve already been tagged not once but twice 🙂

My post is here: http://tinyurl.com/y5o6xx

Comment by Mathew

your blog is the best one about journalism i have read. benjamin

Comment by benjamin

Damn you. =)

http://www.thelifeofm.com/2007/01/5-things-meme.html

Comment by m




Leave a Reply

