Teaching Examples


A few tidbits about time (and how to manage it)
December 17, 2006, 8:39 pm
Filed under: blogs, data, workflow

One way or another, all of these good things came via GigaOM:

  • 10 tips for time management in a multitasking world (about being mindful of where exactly the time goes and how we fall behind), from Penelope Trunk, a columnist at the Boston Globe.
  • Paper, Pen and Blackberry (about the joys of writing things down).
  • NoteTaker is software for Mac OS X only. At first glance, I thought, Yeah, right, like I need a paper notebook metaphor on my computer! Hah! Then I watched two of the tutorial videos, and I realized this is even easier than the wiki I have been using (and private). Then a little lightbulb went on in the back of my mind, and I had a fond, fond remembrance of HyperCard, lo, those many years ago (the last time I owned a Mac). There’s a lot I can do with del.icio.us, real Post-It notes, or the memo app in my BlackBerry phone. But NoteTaker would be good for other things, like organizing a large writing project. (There’s a $30 academic discount!)
  • “Blog if you have something to say and respect your reader’s time. If you respect their time, they are going to give you some time of their day” (see full post).

This one did not come from GigaOM, but it’s been in my bookmarks for a while, and if you’ve read this far, you will probably like it:

PigPogPDA – A Moleskine Hacked into a Complete System (honestly, I would never do this myself; if you want to, see a Moleskine catalog, or buy Moleskines at Amazon.com).

I will return to our regularly scheduled online journalism content tomorrow.

Technorati tags: | |

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

