Teaching Examples


If only every online newspaper looked like this
November 25, 2006, 4:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

El País is the newspaper; ELPAIS.com is the fabulous, just-reinvented, marvelous home page. My God, I hope one day all newspapers will be this good.

Props to Juan Antonio Giner (now if only he would STOP USING FULL CAPS for so many things in his otherwise excellent news design blog!). Es muy difícil leer.

Technorati tags: | | | |

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I disagree. The page is way too big, way too deep, way too many links.

Comment by Howard Owens

If you would rather have a feed, they have those too. Lots.

I love the way this home page is so browsable. I don’t mind scrolling on it. Everything is clear and easy to read. It avoids the jumble and clutter of so many news fronts.

It makes me want to linger there.

Isn’t that the Holy Grail?

Comment by Mindy McAdams

I see lots of resemblance to NYTIMES.com.

I agree that scrolling isn’t bad if you want to scroll. The myth of a non-scrolling site needs to be squashed.

Comment by Patrick Beeson

Better than the Times, in my opinion. I think the design team at ELPAIS.com studied Khoi Vinh’s brilliant redesign of The New York Times site and improved on it. I think they were also influenced by another design fave of mine, Clarín (of Argentina). I’m just guessing, of course.

Comment by Mindy McAdams




Leave a Reply

