Teaching Examples


Reporters shooting video redux
November 22, 2006, 5:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Howard Owens provides detailed answers to some questions I posed earlier about print reporters and video, and about non-TV journalism Web sites, in general, and their use of video. The questions stemmed from another post here that received a lot of diverse comments.

I’ve known Howard for many years, almost entirely through Listservs about online journalism. I don’t always agree with him, but I do respect his opinion. Unlike many of the people I have known in the past 13 years who work in or around online journalism, Howard does get it. And he loves it. He lives in it. So even when I disagree with him, I tend to remember what he says.

A couple of points with which I fully concur:

… sound quality is more important than picture quality. … Quality has a lot more to do with training and talent than the equipment. … Most video can stand some editing, if by that you mean cutting out some extraneous stuff, such as the reporter’s questions …

One thing I’ve been telling people in my newsrooms for three years — some day quality is going to be much more important than it is today, so I want you to get better.

He makes a good point about re-schooling the site visitors:

People aren’t used to going to a newspaper Web site to get video. We are giving them something new, so we need to help them get used to it. If you’re only posting one video project every three or four days (about the time it takes to produce a full-blown, in-depth video production), you are not putting enough video in front of your visitors to get them used to the idea that they can expect video from your site.

Plenty more over at Howard’s blog, and it’s worth your time.

Technorati tags: | | |

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you, Mindy. You say very nice things. I appreciate it. I do love this stuff … and obviously, you do, too, so the conversation is fun.

Comment by Howard Owens




Leave a Reply

