Teaching Examples


Al Jazeera English goes live after delays
November 17, 2006, 9:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Various reasons have been given for the repeated postponements. I like the Web site very much. But will I be able to get the new news network on my American cable system? Ha!

Update (Nov. 18): The more I think about this, the madder I get. I have numerous shopping channels on my cable line-up. Numerous sports channels. Why can’t I have this one additional news channel? What are the cable TV providers afraid of? Really, it’s a First Amendment issue. The cable providers (operating with huge benefits provided by the federal government) are blocking the citizens’ access to information. Now, some idiots might claim that Al Jazeera is “the Osama bin Laden network,” but those same idiots would tell you it’s okay to arrest people without charge and hold them without trial. That used to be considered un-American. So did censorship of news and information.

Technorati tags: | | | |

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

