Teaching Examples


Research about blogging
July 28, 2006, 12:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

For researchers in mass communication (read: professors with Ph.D.’s, and graduate students who hope one day to be professors with Ph.D.’s), blogging is like a candy store full of goodies. So much to study! So many ways to study so many things!

Constantin Basturea has compiled an excellent list of the research papers about blogging that have been accepted for presentation at the 2006 AEJMC national convention. AEJMC is the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, and yes, I am a member. (And among the research papers is one I co-authored with my colleague Cory Armstrong. So, enough about me.)

Related post here: Research about blogs and journalism

Technorati tags: | | |

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Now four years ago, when I first started looking into blogging (2002), there was almost nobody studying it. I was excited with the possibilities. Now, it’s attracted folks like moths to a flame. As someone who’s been doing research as the third or fourth priority behind teaching classes, advising four publications, taking doctoral classes, and trying to reinvent college media, it’s challenging, to say the least.

I’m still doing my dissertation on weblogs, but it’s focused on a form of religious weblog community, so there’s a little less of crowd.

Comment by Murley

I wish this amount of research was being published when I was in graduate school (the last two years, in fact)!

I looked at blogs in several classes, but found scant information from academia then — now it’s exploding.

Fantastic!

Comment by Patrick Beeson




Leave a Reply

