Teaching Examples


Worldwide audience, niche content
July 19, 2006, 1:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Call me a total nerd, but I get a kick out of checking my blog stats, and one of my favorite things is seeing where my visitors come from. This is a screenshot from Site Meter (a free application for tracking site visits) captured on Wednesday about 9 a.m. East Coast time.

Screenshot from Sitemeter
I can’t tell you who these folks are — I don’t get any personal data about them, although I can see that most of them are using the Firefox Web browser, the Windows XP operating system, and 1024 x 768 or greater resolution (which also interests me). The city information is not entirely accurate — once I was logged on from a hotel in Tampa, Florida, and I showed up in the stats as Atlanta, Georgia. (I knew it was me because no one else looks at 20 pages of this blog in one sitting, and the clock time matched.)

I think it’s so cool that people in Malta and Singapore are looking at some professor’s blog on the other side of the world. Because they can.

Technorati tags: | |

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yes, site stats are an endless source of amusement for me as well!

Have you tried using Google Analytics? It’s free, but you have to be “invited” to sign up.

The interface is quite slick, and applying it to your site is as easy as posting some JavaScript into the header.

Comment by Patrick Beeson

Hi, Patrick. I have been enjoying Google Analytics too, especially the cool pie charts!

Comment by Mindy McAdams

I too am a Site Meter Geek.

I have my regular readers identified by city.

But every once in awhile I get international surprises and I think to myself “are you sure my blog is the most exciting thing you could be doing right now?”

Comment by joseph hollak




Leave a Reply

