Teaching Examples


Some numbers for broadband users
April 20, 2006, 5:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Overall Internet penetration among adult Americans (U.S. only) today is 70 percent. Home broadband penetration stands at 74 million people, or 37 percent of adult Americans, according to a Pew Internet & American Life report released in March. Broadband users appear to be voracious news consumers (both online and off). The report includes nice charts to ponder.

Among all internet users, 22% report going to foreign or non-traditional news sites at least once, and 25% of broadband users say this…. Most (54%) Internet users who have gotten news online have registered at a news site. Only 6% of Internet users have paid for news content (video clips, articles, or news broadcasts).

There’s also a significant rural (24%) / (sub)urban (39%) divide in broadband penetration; details in another Pew report.

And finally, what about the big picture? OECD tells us that Icelanders have more broadband per capita than anyone, followed by South Korea (no surprise there). The U.S. is No. 12 among OECD countries. We are said to have 16.8 broadband users for every 100 inhabitants. (Korea: 25.4 per 100.)

Technorati tags: |

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi! I read your very usefull informtions in your blog.I find you through Mr. Shokrkhah’s blog I wanna visit your blog regularly.I will add you in my links too, although my blog has a little difference subject (press translations skills), and if you allow me, I want to translate some part of your topics to Farsi for using in my blog.
Oh I forgat to say that I was not familiar with the rules of blogger, so I had to make a blog in blogger to send my comment! SO, THIS BLOG (arena) just to be born. my current blog is http://press.blogfa.com. I would happy to have contact with you. Sincerely Yours. Shahrokh Nazemi

Comment by arena

I’m so happy to see a post from a reader so far away! Welcome! Of course you may translate my comments into Farsi, if you link back here so people can always find the original.

Comment by Mindy McAdams




Leave a Reply

